Day 2: “Know who you are, know your potential, find your passion”

As day two of our trip is coming to an end I found myself replaying the series of events that happened throughout the day in my mind.  It was an interesting day to say the least.  We got a chance to volunteer and learn more about World Vision, a non profit that promotes positive community youth development through health and education as well as creating a strong network of support. The best part of my day however was listening to Froswa’ Booker-Drew, author of Rules of Engagement; Making Connections Last share her experiences, values and knowledge. I learned so much from her in such a short time. All I could think about during the train ride back was how inspired I felt. She’s probably one of the most resourceful, intelligent, open, and influential people Ive ever met. I learned effective ways of building social capital, I learned the importance of networking, I learned every new face we encounter has the potential to be a stepping stone or a lesson in our future. Everything she was saying made complete and total sense. It’s essential that we all have the knowledge of how to build relationships with people and understand the concept of social capital and how we cant have it until we establish trust; the root of any relationship. 

In an odd and surprising way I leaned more about myself today. After today I want to pay more attention to the people I meet everyday and the way in which I interact with them. I want to be able to observe and deduce peoples synergies and find that connection to the community but in order to do so I need to find myself first. I have to exercise how to stay true to myself, something I often struggle with. Its known that in order to best help others one has to help them self first. “Know who you are, know your potential, find your passion”, her words keep ringing in my ears. They seem like such average words or common advice but to me it meant a lot more. Although I did express my gratitude to her I don’t think she will ever know what she did for me today. I took one last look around the room at the end of the meeting and felt a sense of hope and motivation.

Two quotes that will stay with me forever after today;  “The true measure of a nations standing is how well it attends to its children” and “Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens  can change the world , indeed its the only thing that always has”.  

Leave a Reply

